Kohl Miner

Okay, this is going to be a short post for two reasons:

1. It was a short e-mail interview. I was trying to catch up on the blog, and so I limited myself to the most basic of questions.

2. There is no way I can concentrate with the enthusiastically cheering Obama people outside my window, intriguing me more with every passing second as to what I’m missing.

Therefore, other than a passing observation that the incomparable Kohl Miner bears a striking resemblance to Q (the dazzling, puckish omnipotent thorn-in-the-side to Captain Picard) I shall do no original work here at all, and instead give you a slap-dash Copy-Paste of the interview. Please forgive me. It’s the first election I’ve gotten to vote in, and so much is riding on it, and I feel like I’m going to burst.

1. What is it that you love most about the artistic work you do, and why?

I love the story telling aspect of my work. I dig hearing laughter. I love the rehearsal process. I like the juxtaposition thing that happens in my story telling. Comedy is such an incredible teaching tool and it’s so incredibly healing. I am totally into being an entertainer. Though most of my writing is semi-autobiographical, there are pieces that have no basis in my reality. “Dreams of Cheerleading” [from the last Out Rage Us] is one of those pieces.

2. How is performing at Patrick’s Cabaret and/or Out Rage Us different from doing so at other venues?

The audiences at Patrick’s have always been incredibly supportive. It has always been one of my favorite places to perform.

3. What would you say are the major influences on your work?

Cheech and Chong, AIM, marijuana, early David Bowie, Monty Python, early Saturday Night Live and my grandmother

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

