Alexandra Owings

Another newbie! Ladies and gentlemen, welcome Alexandra Owings to the fold and to her first time at Patrick’s Cabaret! She will be treating you to a fantastic belly-dancing performance this weekend, and hopefully weekends to come.

Alexandra has been dancing since she was a child, but it wasn’t until she was sixteen that she discovered belly dance and fell in love with it. She quickly discovered its many fusions–tribal, hip-hop, Latin, etc.– and was excited by their challenges. She loved learning to feel and dance to the music itself, not eight-counts. These days her favorite thing about dancing is “the feeling you get when your body is entirely in sync with the music. I love picking out interesting beats to dance to and it is so much fun to explore how your body and your different body parts can hit the beats. I think a good song to dance to really helps a dancer to feel the music and move their body to the beat of the song. When I come across a new song I love, it is such a good feeling like you are meant to move to the song. I think that is why I love gothic fusion so much: because the songs speak to me.”

You know, I’ve really missed doing interviews. You get to find out so much interesting stuff. For instance, before this interview, I had no idea what gothic-tribal belly dance was, but now I know that this genre, which Alexandra has been exploring recently, is a fusion dance made up of gothic-style and ATS (American Tribal Style, itself derived from Middle Eastern bellydance). Alexandra describes it as incorporating “mostly ATS, hip-hop, and modern style dance…gothic in that the music, costume, and movements are very dark, sensual, yet cutting edge and dynamic.”  It has less of bellydance’s stereotypical “girly, sexy” vibe and more of “the darkness of vampires, the isolations of hip-hop, and the sensuality of traditional belly dance .”

Also a dance teacher, Alexandra loves “picking out songs that make my students move. I can see the excitement in their bones when they hear a good song. It makes them feel empowered, feminine, sexy, yet humble at the same time. Dance is so liberating and I love for my students to feel that rush of feeling throughout their bodies when they dance.”

Lastly, Alexandra would like to take this opportunity to thank the many people in her life have taught her to dance and/or shown her good music, for helping her to develop and grow as a dancer: “my mom taught me to feel music, my sister taught me that dancing is liberating, my brother taught me that music is an instrument to show how you
feel, my dance teachers have taught me technique, and my fiancé has taught me confidence and has pushed me into achieving my goals. I thank all of them for their help!”

That certainly is a lot of people, eh? Don’t let their gifts be in vain! Come see Alexandra tomorrow and Saturday and Patrick’s Cabaret.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

