Belated Kinesis

Hey y’all! Wish I could be here this weekend, but my big sis is graduating! I hope you all enjoyed the awesome Noche Hispana Seis and the equally fantabulous Artwurst this past month. Here’s a delayed interview tidbit from Sarah LaRose Holland, curator of our ever-popular Kinetic Kitchen series:

1. How has Kinetic Kitchen as an event changed since it first started?
I don’t think the Kinetic Kitchen has changed all that much as an event really. The series was started as a way to bring choreographers together to share their dances and it continues to do just that. The location of the series has changed, and the support from Patrick’s Cabaret has really helped to allow the series to thrive and continue. The actual event itself I think is the same intent as it was since the series was first formed.

2. Do you have a vision of where it’s going in the future?
In the future, I would like to be able to provide more Kinetic Kitchen shows per year. There is a high demand from artists with interest to show work. I’ve had a waiting list since last fall, and when more shows come available they will fill up quickly. I would like to be able to provide more Kinetic Kitchen shows each year to allow access to more artists.

3. Your favorite thing about it?
My favorite thing about the Kinetic Kitchen is bringing together choreographers and audience. The series has developed it’s own niche in the community. I enjoy when the show opens and the dances are first seen by audiences. Both the performers and the audiences are very excited for the opportunity to show work and to see the work. I also enjoy introducing the performers in the show to eachother. It’s important to me that artists engage with the people they share the stage with.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

